Field – Painting Session 4

Returning to our cut-out paintings, we began working over the base coat, only using a thin layer of paint so that it wouldn’t completely cover the base coat, letting the colours mingle. I have a lot of freedom with this painting as it is such a plain design. I had decided to make each house blue, but with different hints of colours added to each blue, like bits of red, yellow, orange and black. This way the houses would be subtly different. I asked James for advice on how I could make my painting more exciting and he mentioned adding collage and perhaps painting bricks in various sections of the houses, and I agreed that it was a good idea and I shall work on that during the week. Here is how my board looked by the end of this session.

Cutout painting 2 closeup

I very much like the surface wood underneath the paint which adds a rough, grainy texture, and how the base colours are protruding through the blues.

Leave a comment