Field Drawing and Painting – Starting Points 2

Here is a drawing I made of the view outside my kitchen window, again, it represents layers within the city and the sense of endlessness.

Image

I also converted this drawing into a small painting, however I was not entirely happy with my choice of colours and have not yet returned to this composition for more substantial, finished work.

Image

I can’t help but see a lot of flaws within this painting, although I believe it was my first try at painting in this style. I don’t think it is very coordinated and therefore I think it looks flat rather than three dimensional. However I persevered.

Image

I made this drawing based on the composition and colour scheme of one of my previous photographs. I chose this image for it’s composition: I like the way there are boxes/crates in the foreground which look fixed and almost menacing, but there are also crates in the background shrinking in the distance, as if there is a constant collection of these crates neatly piled everywhere.

Image

I converted my earlier drawing into a painting (acrylic on MDF board) and I think it was very successful, I found I had to make a lot of decisions with this painting in order to be happy with it. For instance, it was not my original plan to make one of the foreground crates orange, but I think the rust-like orange glow underneath the faraway crates insisted that something else in the painting was made orange as well. I made the change and I think they compliment each other, therefore I am happy with the results.

I also added some faraway mountain-like buildings in the background which look to be fading away. There was only one pointy building in the original plan but I thought there should be a cluster of them so that they look eerily like mountains, but one can’t be sure about what they actually are.

……………………….

Whilst out taking photographs I found myself taking photos of smaller things (as opposed to buildings and factories) which I found interesting. It is the geometric shapes within cities and towns which I have been focusing on, but the childish idea of representing them as little toys is just as important to me. I noticed these little sheds in my neighbors garden, and I loved them for their simplicity and innocence (this may be because they were painted pale pink and green).

ImageImage

This idea of simplifying cityscapes and busy towns into little toys and simple blocky shapes was inspired by Cardiff based photographer Paul Beauchamp, as his photographs create the sort of feeling I want to express through my own work.

Image

Paul Beauchamp – ‘Pink House’

Leave a comment