Subject Area: Painting 1.

I chose the subject Painting as my specialty with my tutor James. We were instructed to bring in a drawing, a photograph and an object to our first session (preferably all these things relating to our field project) which we could arrange an create a composition for out first drawing/painting. This painting was to be on an A1 piece of paper and it was to be filled right to the edges.

I brought with me a drawing and some little clay building blocks which I had made earlier on in the project, and a photograph I had taken studying the architecture in Cardiff. I placed the clay models in the foreground and made a backdrop using the drawing and photograph. Here was the first stage (ish) of my painting.

painting 1

We were told to use green for mid tones, yellow for lighter tones and blue and red for dark tones. This was to make the base coat which we would be working over. These base colours seem to set off the colours used on top of it and make them pop. Below are the different stages my painting went through.

Painting 2Painting 3

These show the various changes and different layers I was adding to my painting.

 

We were to work on these paintings during the week before our second painting session when we would be finishing our paintings (or at least try to). I am a rather slow worker and could not quite distinguish the difference between the drawing and the photograph. I studied the marks made in my drawing compared to the smoothness of the photograph next to it, I also noticed how the building in the photograph had a slightly bluish tinge to it, I think that was due to the late time I took it and the printer ink, but I decided to try and paint it that colour. Here is my finished painting from our second painting session.

Finished painting 1

Leave a comment